UP and OUT by Julia Kaye

I forget how I stumbled across UP and OUT, but I’m very glad that I did! Up and Out is a webcomic by Julia Kaye about life as a trans individual. Admittedly, I only discovered trans identities a few years ago and it is something I’m not completely educated on. I’ve worked through unpacking my own transphobic thoughts and I’m still learning to be a better ally to trans individuals.

A recent one. I have a trans friend and every time we get together we vent for ages. It’s great, there’s just so much to get into.
If ya trans, I can’t recommend hanging with other trans people enough. It’s so good having a space to talk about issues...

UP and OUT are short and brief gag comics that are easy to digest and give insight into how it is being a trans individual. Quickly reading through a few of the comics on Instagram has better helped me learn about trans individuals, and some of the inner thoughts and external woes they have to endure. Certainly things that I as a cis-gendered person take for granted.

PLEASE READ:
THIS IS IMPORTANT TO UNDERSTANDING THIS COMIC: this is part of a serious autobio series I started months back to document my gender transition. These took place months ago.
August 18th, 2016. Dissecting my general worries while still...

The author, Julia Kaye, states that it is an autobiographical series that she created to document her journey through her personal gender transition. It is definitely worth checking out!

Leave a Reply

